Artist: U2

Date: 1987-04-02

Location: Tempe, AZ - ASU Activity Center

Medium: SHN

Title: We've Missed You


We've Missed You
Tempe, Arizona
02 April 1987

Disc 1:
1. Barry Fey's Statement Of Behalf of U2 Regarding Gov. Meacham
2. Where the Streets Have No Name
3. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
4. Exodus
5. Gloria
6. I Will Follow
7. Bullet the Blue Sky
8. Running To Stand Still
9. Exit
10. In God's Country
11. A Sort Of Homecoming

Disc 2:
1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
2. Maggie's Farm
3. Bad
4. October
5. New Year's Day
6. Pride
7. People Get Ready
8. 40

Source: Analog first generation tape > Maxisound HomeStudio Pro 64 > Wav > CD Master > EAC Secure > SHN > CDR (u) > EAC Secure (Wav) > FLAC Frontend (FLAC Level 8)

Comments [Justin Cook]: This version came from a 1st generation tape put to CDR by Javi Dieguez. Here are his comments:

First night of the JT tour with a cracked Bono on vocals, short show. This set's not excellent, but still good... it has bass, treble, sounds fairly close. But it has also a bit of hiss and clarity could be better. Anyway, taking into account how bad versions out there for this show are, this is a nice 2 CD set. I put this on CDR from a 1st generation XLII90 using my pro64 soundcard, no processing done besides normalization and smoothing of breaks. I could seamlessly join the beginning of SBS at end of side A of the tape with the entire song at side B.

Sound quality is infinitely better than "The Tour Begins". This recording is not quite on the same level as "Back In the Desert" (a bootleg documenting the next night's concert), but it's still very good. There is very little crowd noise and it is relegated entirely to the background. Bono's vocals (if you can call them that) feature prominently in the mix. There is a bit of background noise, but it certainly shouldn't cause much concern.

Bono was suffering from throat problems after practicing for much of the previous week in the dry desert air of Arizona. He croaks "Hello!" during the intro to "Streets" and his singing during the first verse of the song makes you realize that what was arguably U2's best tour started out rather terribly. By the second verse of "Streets", Edge is obviously singing more than just back up vocals, and the performance improves as a result. Bono's voice continues to deteriorate throughout the show, but despite the rough vocals it is very interesting to hear some of U2's greatest hits performed live for the first time ever and sounding very raw.

The opening track features Barry Fey, speaking on behalf of the band, unleashing a scathing criticism of Arizona's Governor Meacham, who refused to make Martin Luther King Day a state holiday.

No cover available for this show.