Artist: U2

Date: 1989-10-08

Location: Melbourne, Australia - Sports And Entertainment Centre

Medium: SHN

Equipment / Source: unknown


National Tennis Centre
Melbourne, Australia

Attendance: 112,000 (sellout, seven nights)
Support: Weddings Parties Anything, B.B. King


LOCATION: Lower Balcony on Adam's side.

Disc 1 (49:01)

1. Hawkmoon 269
2. Desire
3. All Along The Watchtower
4. Bullet The Blue Sky
5. Running To Stand Still
6. All I Want Is You
7. Where The Streets Have No Name
8. I Will Follow
9. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
10. MLK
11. One Tree Hill
12. God Part II

Disc 2 (31:16)

1. Bad
2. October
3. New Year's Day
4. Pride
5. Encore Break
First Encore
6. Angel of Harlem
7. When Love Comes to Town

If you are not very familar with Lovetown, then you are in for a treat. The 1st Leg Lovetown shows in Australia and New Zealand were U2 at their best. The band played with more passion and energy than ever before. Setlists were totally mixed up every night and improvisation was not uncommon. Unfortunatly not many people recognise Lovetown for what it was due to the lack of good recordings (specifically the 1st leg). Recently a member of this site called George aka boyacrobat posted a message saying that he taped almost every Melbourne Lovetown show with the exception of the 9th. He also taped a couple of Sydney shows I believe. Anyway these tapes were kept hidden from the U2 trading community for almost 2 decades.

George got a copy of the infamous "Rocks Hottest Ticket" Chicago bootleg around 3 months after it was recorded, this recording inspired him to tape these shows with a goal of getting something that sounds even better than that famous Chicago recording.

This recording misses out on the last 3 songs because George used another tape to record them, unfortunatly he misplaced this tape so the show is incomplete. This is a very good recording however George has repeatedly told me that the quality of recordings get better as the nights go on.

The music here has not been "cleaned" in any way, what was recorded is what you get. It is requested that if anyone does any remastering, creates a matrix with other available versions, etc, that they kindly send boyacrobat aka George a copy of their work.

George has told me a few cool stories about these recordings but I will save those for later.

Show recorded on TDK SA-90 cassettes, transferred to wav, Nero to cdr > EAC to wav > Tracks split up in Sony Soundforge > FLAC Frontend 1.7.1. to FLAC Level 6


Archived on ICY1.

No cover available for this show.