Artist: U2

Date: 1987-07-15

Location: Madrid, Spain - Estadio Santiago Bernabeu

Medium: SHN

Equipment / Source: unknown


July 15, 1987
Madrid, Spain
Estadio Santiago Bernabeu

ATT: 115,000 (sellout)
Support: Big Audio Dynamite, UB40, The Pretenders

Disc 1 (59:19)

1. Where the Streets Have No Name
2. I Will Follow
3. I Still Haven't Found
4. MLK
5. The Unforgettable Fire
6. Bullet the Blue Sky
7. Running to Stand Still
8. Sunday Bloody Sunday
9. Exit
10. In God's Country
11. The Electric Co.
12. Help
13. Bad

Disc 2 (33:43)

1. October
2. New Year's Day
3. Pride
4. Party Girl
5. Spanish Eyes
6. With or Without You
7. "40"

Per Pimm:

"U2's very first concert in Spain attracts the biggest audience of the whole 1987 tour and marks the second time that the band perform to well over a hundred thousand people. (The US Festival in 1983 was the first time). The promoter assures U2's organization that attendance is limited to 75,000, but another 40,000 tickets are put on sale illegally. Within three days all tickets are gone, even though U2 have never played in Spain before and thus have not been able to build up a following. Nevertheless, the audience go bonkers and sing along to virtually every song. Trying to break through to this huge audience, Bono uses an old trick and climbs to the roof of the stage during Electric Co. The highlight of the evening is the live premiere of Spanish Eyes, the B-side of the I Still Haven't Found single, which drives the Spaniards nuts. 'I ask myself one question,' Bono says before 40, 'Why have we not played here before?"

As you may recall, the Bandera Blanca version was torrented on EZ Torrent but proved to be lossy. I am unsure as to whether my version is the same as "Riders on the Storm" and is simply cut 13/7 rather than 10/10 between the discs...if you looking for something of SB quality, don't bother with this one, but it is more than adequate, maybe 2.5/5 would be a fair conservative grade. Crowd noise is mostly heard between the songs, decent clarity.

We would need cover art...hint, hint, hint.

cdr (obtained in trade, unknown taper or lineage, lossless) > EAC to wav > FLAC Frontend 1.7.1 to FLAC Level 6


Archived on ICY1.

No cover available for this show.