Artist: U2

Date: 1989-10-09

Location: Melbourne, Australia - National Tennis Centre

Medium: SHN

Equipment / Source: unknown


Lovetown Power
Lovetown Melbourne, Australia
09 October 1989


Disc 1:
1. Stand by Me (PA Intro, then band comes in)
2. In God's Country
3. Desire
4. All Along the Watchtower
5. All I Want is You
6. Where the Streets Have No Name
7. I Will Follow
8. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For/Exodus
9. MLK
10. One Tree Hill
11. God Part II
12. Bullet the Blue Sky

Disc 2:
1. Running to Stand Still
2. Van Diemen's Land
3. Bad/You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
4. October
5. New Year's Day
6. Pride (In the Name of Love)
7. Angel of Harlem
8. When Love Comes to Town/In the Midnight Hour
9. Love Rescue Me
10. "40"

Justin Cook's comments:

Darren Glen put in numerous hours at the studio remastering this bootleg, using "Lovetown Melbourne - Night Three" as his primary source material. The result is outstanding. Again, crowd noise is present -- there is no way to eliminate that -- but the vocals are at the forefront and all of the instruments can be clearly heard. This is definitely one of the best first leg Lovetown recordings available. It is infinitely better than any of the other bootlegs of this concert that I have heard. However, for those of you that don't like remastered bootlegs and prefer the untouched recordings, I do have Darren's primary source recording as well.

Mike's Comments (4/18/06):

It's unclear what the lineage is, as the sound quality is mostly excellent, but seems to become worse at a couple times, presumably because those parts are from a different and/or higher gen cassettes. So this is, until I hear differently:

Unknown ANA > Darren Glen remaster [> CDR > EAC Secure > FLAC]. No flaws found.

For those who haven't heard this show, it seems the same taper (who???) taped all these shows from the same seat. This one sounds very good, though there is occassional clipping and it appears Darren may have used more than one tape for this show. So this sounds decent, but not as solid as later recordings from Lovetown leg 2.

To be clear, I think this is an improvement over "The Power of Lovetown." I probably wouldn't say it's infinitely better, but all things considered, including Darren's work on this show, this is the best copy of this show that I know of.

This night, the third one, they opened with the pre-recorded John Lennon's "Stand By Me" and then Bono, the Edge and Larry all sang verses. They then ripped into "In God's Country," which made a rare appearance in a slightly different form than that on the Joshua Tree Tour. The band messes up a couple times but puts on an overall great show.


Archived on Brick.

No cover available for this show.