Artist: U2

Date: 1983-06-01

Location: San Francisco, CA - Civic Auditorium

Medium: SHN

Equipment / Source: unk


01.06.1983, USA, San Francisco, Civic Auditorium
SF War
Excellent Audience

Disc 1:
01. Out Of Control (guitar malfunction)
02. Out Of Control
03. Twilight
04. An Cat Dubh
05. Into The Heart
06. Surrender
07. Two Hearts Beat As One
08. Seconds
09. Sunday Bloody Sunday
10. Cry / The Electric Co.
11. I Fall Down
12. October
13. New Year's Day
14. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
15. A Day Without Me

Disc 2:
01. Gloria
02. Party Girl
03. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
04. I Will Follow
05. 40

Source: CDR > EAC > WAV > FLAC (Level 6)

Notes: (by Justin)
I produced this bootleg from a recording that had two second gaps between tracks. I used Cool Edit 2000 to eliminate the gaps. The transitions between songs are now seamless, however a fade out/in was necessary between "The Electric Co." and "I Fall Down".

Sound quality is surprisingly good for an audience recording from this era that has yet to be widely circulated. Bono's vocals are very powerful and definitely feature prominently in the overall mix. However, the music comes through loud and clear as well. Audience noise is minimal, giving the recording a bit of a sterile sound.

The Edge has all sorts of problems during "Out of Control", constantly cutting out and forcing Bono to sing "We don't need a guitar" and then improvise extensively to fill time. About 2:45 into the song, the guitar fails completely and the band stops the song. Bono says "Right! For the first time in I think probably five years we've got a breakdown. And I think the reason for it is this radio lead that a lot of hippie guitar players use. And somebody's out there convincing us into using it. Never again. What I'm gonna do is I'm gonna start this again. Okay? This is San Francisco. We can do what we want here, alright?"

Checked with Adobe Audition: Lossless


Archived on ICY1.

No cover available for this show.