Artist: U2

Date: 1987-07-08

Location: Brussels, Belgium - Vorst National

Medium: SHN

Equipment / Source: ?? > D5


Vorst National
Brussels, Belgium
July 8, 1987

Recorded by GS (equipment unconfirmed but cassette deck likely Sony D5)

First gen cassette > Nakamichi CR-7A transfer > Peak 5.2 > FLAC

01 Where the Streets Have No Name
02 I Will Follow
03 I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
04 MLK
05 The Unforgettable Fire (edit/trim at end)
06 Bullet the Blue Sky
07 Running to Stand Still
08 Sunday Bloody Sunday (edit/trim at end)
09 Exit (edit/trim at end)
10 In God's Country
11 The Electric Co. (edit/trim at end)
12 Help
13 Bad
14 October > New Year's Day
15 Pride (In the Name of Love)
16 Party Girl (edit/trim at end)
17 With or Without You
**** 40 is missing

"Unfortunately 40 didn't fit on this tape. I'll record it next time, allright?"

So wrote GS when he sent us this first gen copy of his master sometime around 1993. We never did get that missing song and when I transferred this tape almost two years ago, I also realized that no only was "40" cut but that a few other between-song trims had been made to fit as much of the show as possible onto one 90 min cassette, though no music is lost save for the aforementioned "40."

For that reason I had never posted the show here, figuring that better copies existed. Justin's site lists two excellent recordings, but both of them also note significant cuts that are different than this tape, leading me to believe this may be a new source. GS was not a U2 guy at all. In fact this may have been the only time he ever recorded them.

In listening to the recording again today, I was impressed by how good it is and figured, at least in this lull on the site of mostly just reseeds, folks might find this appealing. Samples provided. Given the known lineage here and the age I have forgone (as always) FA analysis.

Butterking for JEMS


Archived on ICY1.

No cover available for this show.